Surrey Development Forum Logo

Welcome to our Annual Conference 2023.



Thank you for joining us for our third annual conference, and this year will be bigger than ever.

We will be using Slido throughout the Conference to ask any questions or polls. You can log in by scanning below:

(or click here to access on this device)

You will find all the agenda details for the day below.


09:00-09:30 – Coffees and pastries

09:35-09:40 – Conference Opens – Welcome by John Tarvit, Chair of Surrey Development Forum and Director of Planning at Wates Developments

09:40-10:00 – Keynote speech 

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

10:00-10:50 – Panel 1: Delivering in an era of Climate Change

Chair: Duncan Flynn, Cratus

Timothy Crawshaw, Director of Planning and Placemaking, Surrey County Council

Mike Axon, Global Director of Transport, SLR Consulting

Lucy Wood, Environmental Planning Director & Climate Solutions Leader UK&I, Stantec

10:50-11:10 – Creating Social Value

Wesley Ankrah, Director, Social Value, Savills

11:10-11:25 – Refreshment Break

11:25-12:15 – Panel 2: Economic Development in Surrey

Chair: Catriona Riddell, Director, Catriona Riddell & Associates Ltd

Cllr Matt Furniss, Cabinet Member for Highways, Transport and Economic Growth, Surrey County Council, Guildford Borough Councillor

Charles Collins, Head of Guildford Office & South East Planning, Savills

Ed Pigott, Associate Planning Director at Newlands Property Developments LLP

12:15-13:00 – Lunch – sponsored by Mayer Brown

13:00-13:50 – Development Politics in Surrey – In conversation with

Cllr Hannah Dalton, Chair of the Surrey Leaders Group, Leader of Epsom and Ewell BC

and Julian Seymour, Cratus

13:50 – 14:30 – Manifesto 2024 Workshop with a foreword from Surrey Youth Cabinet

14:30 – 14:50 – Refreshment Break

14:50 – 15:10 – Working together to deliver an effective housing strategy with

Cllr Sinead Mooney, Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care, Surrey County Council, Spelthorne Borough Councillor

15:10-16:00 – Panel 3: Delivering effective utility infrastructure in Surrey – sponsored by Utility Results

Chair: Sarah McKee, Director, Communications and Public Affairs, Cratus

Scott Goodwin, Founding Partner, Utility Results

Antoinette Antoine, Director of Infrastructure and Major Projects, Surrey County Council

Jaime Carroll, Manager, Local Government BT Group

James Cooper, Head of Connections Projects, UK Power Networks

16:00 – 16:20 – Five key areas of change for Surrey housing in 2024 – with

Rupert Warren KC, Head of Planning Law Group, Landmark Chambers

16:20 – 16:40 – Close of Formal Conference, Reflections from the Chair, Cratus and Savills

16:40 – 18:00 – Drinks Reception, sponsored by Savills


A massive thank you to this year’s sponsors: